symphony no. 2


View Score

Duration ca. 35'
3d1pic.3d1enghn.3d1eflatcld1bcl.3d1cbsn/4.4. 3d1altotbnd1btbn.1/timp.2perc/hp.str


Commissioned by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

Premiered by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra conducted by Robert Spano, November 5, 7, 2015.

Other performances: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, April 27, 2016.


Listen to complete work on Spotify


Jonathan Leshnoff’s Symphony No. 2, “Innerspace”—an engaging, accessible force of new music from a composer with an approachable modern voice—is all about the ending... Spano bled an enormous amount of passion from the piece... Symphony No. 2 will surely become a lasting, heralded work.

—Jon Ross, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, November 6, 2015