Symphony no. 1

Duration ca. 20'


Commissioned by IRIS Orchestra.

Premiered by IRIS Orchestra conducted by Michael Stern, Germantown, TN, December 4-5, 2004.

Other performances: Kansas City Symphony conducted by Michael Stern, Kansas.City, MO, May 19-21, 2006.


Listen to complete work on Spotify


A diaphanous orchestral fabric of beautiful transparency... Lush, evocative slow passages alternated with driving rhythms... The structure was clear and the themes showed an avoidance of cliché.

—Paul Horsley, The Kansas City Star, May 22, 200

... A fluid, thoughtful work, superbly textured and unafraid to be intellectual.

—Jon Sparks, Memphis Commercial Appeal, December 6, 2004