Duration ca. 20'
Full version:
Reduced version: perc./str

Available in piano reduction


Commissioned by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Co-commissioned by the Nashville Symphony Orchestra, Reno Philharmonic and Orquestra Sinfonica del Principado de Asturias.

Premiered by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marin Alsop, soloist Manuel Barrueco, January 9 and 12, 2014.

Other performances: Orquestra Sinfonica del Principado de Asturias conducted by Andrew Grams, soloist Manuel Barrueco, Asturias, Spain, May 1-2, 2014; Nashville Symphony Orchestra conducted by Giancarlo Guerrero, soloist Manuel Barrueco, October 2-3, 2015; Reno Philharmonic conducted by Laura Jackson, soloist Manuel Barrueco, November 8 & 10, 2015; Nashville Symphony Orchestra conducted by Giancarlo Guerrero, soloist Jason Vieaux, Nashville, TN April 27-28, 2018.



Listen to WBJC interview

Nashville Public Radio: Guitarist Jason Vieaux to Make Nashville Symphony Debut With Most Challenging Music of His Career

In this introspective Adagio the guitar's gently questioning melodic lines emerge against alternately shimmering and aching chords. It's an exquisite reverie, and it inspired beautiful playing on Thursday from both soloist Manuel Barrueco—the concerto's dedicatee—and the ensemble. The outer movements deliver rewards as well. The opening one grabs attention with its initial, arcing phrase, which gets a vigorous, colorful workout from guitar and ensemble alike... the concerto makes a worthy, welcome entry into the repertoire. It reconfirms that Leshnoff... with a presence far beyond Baltimore, is an assured composer who has a lot to say and a directly communicative way of saying it.

—Tim Smith, The Baltimore Sun, January 10, 2014